Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwavidyalaya

Department of Plant Pathology

Department of Plant Pathology, Jabalpur came into existence with the establishment of the university in October 1964. The subject was taught   in all the constituent colleges with M.Sc (Ag) in Plant Pathology at Jabalpur, Gwalior (RSKVV, Gwalior) then at Sehore, Rewa and Tikamgarh. The teaching at B.Sc.(Ag) level being imparted at College of Agriculture Tikamgarh and Ganj Basoda besides above colleges.  The Department engaged itself in all the three core activities of teaching, research and extension, which constitute the integrated system of education. The Department has built up expertise in different areas of Plant Pathology (Fungal taxonomy, Cereal Pathology, Pulse Pathology, Millet Pathology, Seed Pathology, Fungicides, Biological  Control, Mushroom Cultivation, Cash crops: Ginger, Sugarcane, Betelvine and Nematode Problems under an umbrella of founder veteran scientists (Late) Dr. A.C. Jain, (Late) Dr. J.N. Chand, (Late) ,Dr. L.K. Joshi, Dr. K.G. Nema, (Late), Dr. M.N. Khare, Dr. G.S. Dave (Late) and Dr. M.L.Nayak, who worked for building up of the corridor with faith and total dedication and became prominent pillars. Plant Pathologist of the future who will continue the work towards the construction of this corridor will admire forever.