Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwavidyalaya
Soil Science & Agril. Chemistry
Dr. P.S. Kulhare

Dr. P.S. Kulhare

Professor & Head
Ph.: 0761-2680771, 2681773; Extn.324(O)
Fax: 0761-2681236
Mob.: 9424321540
E-mail: drpskulhare@rediffmail.com

Government of India in coordination of the Govt. of Madhya Pradesh established the multi campus university at Jabalpur, in the heart of the country, named after the architect of modern India,Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, based on the recommendations of Radhakrishnan Commission (1949) on the concept of establishment of Agricultural University. An approach was envisaged to narrow down the gap between the experts and farmers through Joint Indo-American Team on Agricultural Research and Education in 1954-55 and 1959-60 on the pattern of Land Grant Colleges of USA. College of Agriculture, Jabalpur was established in 1955 (affiliated to then Jabalpur University). On October 2, 1964, Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya (JNKVV) was inaugurated by the then Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Smt Indira Gandhi. Dr. J. S. Patel took over as the first Vice Chancellor in October 1964.

Soil Science

The Central Administrative Offices of the University are located about 7 km North of Jabalpur town on National Highway No. 7. The University had to part with the creation of sister universities Indira Gandhi Vishwa Vidyalaya (IGKVV) at Raipur in 1987, Rajmata Vijayaraje Scindia Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya (RVSKVV), Gwalior in 2008 and Madhya Pradesh Pashu Chikitsa Vigyan Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur in 2009. At present, the University has four Agriculture, one Agricultural Engineering College, one Dryland Horticulture Research Station; five Zonal Agricultural Research Stations (ZARS), 5 Regional Agricultural Research Stations (RARS) and 20 Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVK) spread over 25 districts.

With the establishment of the Faculty of Agriculture in Jawharlal Nehru Krshi Vishwa Vidyalaya, the Department of Soil Science & Agricultural Chemistry came into existence during 1967 which was first headed by Prof. P.M. Tamboli. However, M.Sc.(Ag.) & Ph.D. in Soil Science & Agril. Chemistry was started in 1962 and 1971, respectively. The Department runs M.Sc.(Ag) and Ph.D. degree programmes as scheduled by the VV. Soil Fertility and Plant Nutrition, Soil Physics, and Soil Microbiology are the prime areas of specialization in the department. The department has established several magnificent milestones in research, teaching and extension activities for the benefit to mankind, particularly to the farming community.